First Week in Australia!

Family!!!!!

Thank you so much for all of your emails, I have never been so happy to hear from all of you. I will try my best to reply to each of you but time is running short. Just know that I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!

I’m sure you are all wondering about Australia! It is BEAUTIFUL!  I don’t think there could be a more amazing place in the entire world. I am so blessed & happy to be here! The plane ride was the longest 18 hours of my life, but I made it safe. I travelled by myself to San Francisco and then met up with other missionaries in Auckland. All the Elders were in the New Zealand MTC so that explains why I was travelling alone. The second I got off the plane the humidity hit me hard. haha the last time I had been outside I was standing in a snow storm so it took some time to adjust. It’s really hot & it’s just the beginning of Summer:) The ward Christmas Party was a bbq & pool party so that was a little different.

 Jake you are going to love it here! I am so excited that you get to come. I LOVE ‘STRALIA! But, the rumors are true. Everything is insanely expensive. $5 AUS dollars for one avocado! I guess I won’t be having any avocado for a while. 😦 You also only get one ketchup packet at Maccas (McDonalds) you have to pay to get another one. These are the things I am learning.
Not only did I have the best MTC companion ever I also have THE BEST TRAINER EVER!! Oh I love her so much! There is no doubt we were friends in the pre existence because Sister Shelley & I are already life long friends. She is from Ephraim & has been out for 4 months. You are going to love her! She is actually related to one of my high school friends, Melissa Squires. Kinda cool! We will be serving in Coffs Harbour which is 7 1/2 hours north from Sydney. It’s the furthest area in the mission & we are the only sisters in that area. I’m dying to get there! We are staying in Sydney until Wednesday because our Christmas Conference is tomorrow. You should look up Coffs Harbour! I hear it is beautiful & right on the coast. I feel so blessed to serve there! I don’t know a whole lot about it since I haven’t been there yet, but the people already have my heart. Sister Shelley and I are going to hit the ground running right when we get there! I cannot wait!
Since we aren’t in our area we haven’t had a whole lot to do. We ride the bus & contact which has been an adventure. The bus drivers here are insane. One lady got thrown to the other side of the bus! haha I tried not to laugh:) Don’t worry she was fine. Everyone is really nice & welcoming. If I didn’t love all of you more than anything I think I would stay here forever!
That’s about all I can think of for now. I’m sending a Christmas package home to you today! Hopefully it gets there before next Christmas:)
Thank you for everything! I had a really hard time the day I got here. I felt so far from you all but I felt your prayers & every day I fall more in love with missionary work. I’m beyond blessed with the greatest family & I want you to know how much I appreciate all you’ve done for me. I wouldn’t be here without you. Also I get to talk to you on Christmas! I’ll email you Mum with the details. I’m so thankful for the Saviour. He is my best friend & as I remember Him all of my fears, and sorrows disappear. I am giving Him everything I have while I am here.
Have a wonderful week!!
Love,
Sister Denney
Australia week 1
Leave a Reply

