Week 4

Hey Fam!

What a week! I have a feeling 2016 is going to be THE BEST YEAR EVER. Set any good goals? I want to hear all about them!

My theme for 2016 comes from a talk given by Dieter F Uchtdorf entitled, “Fear Not, I am With Thee” He refers to the apostle Peter, but focuses on the Peter after Christ was resurrected. As you know there was a big difference. Peter became a leader. An example. A defender of Christ. He became what I hope to become as a full time representative of The Lord Jesus Christ & for the rest of my life. He became –
Strong in Testimony & Fearless in Heart
They go hand in hand, which is so cool! In order to be one you must be the other. Peter went from fearing man, which led him to deny Christ 3 times, to a man that was fearless in heart. As members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints we have also taken upon us His name. You have taken His name upon you! Don’t forget that! I’m so blessed to have taken His name upon me in a literal sense for the next 17 months. I love wearing my name badge. President Uchtdorf asked, “What kind of witness will you be?” Which version of Peter are you in this very moment?
My goal for 2016 is to become the witness of Jesus Christ that is strong in testimony & fearless in heart. As my testimony & faith in Christ grows, I have seen my fears subside. In every single aspect of my life. It is the most wonderful thing.
Sister Shelley & I are ready for a year of miracles. We went out and bought miracle journals & the highlight of my day is writing in it before I go to bed. The Lord is here in Australia helping along the way. I know it because I have seen it! My favorite miracle this past week was Phillip. During nightly planning I thought of a name of someone I wanted to find the next day. The name that came to my mind was Phillip:) We checked in the area book but couldn’t find anything having to do with that name so we picked a few other people to visit. On our way to Peter’s house (who is also a miracle) I noticed we were driving on Phillip Street. I got so excited & figured my person must live on Phillip Street! Obvious, right? Well we knocked Phillip Street and that was a let down. No one answered. I started to lose faith in my Phillip but we continued on with the rest of the people on our list to visit. On our way to visit Esther we ran into a man that we recognized. We realized he helped us find cream cheese at the grocery store the night before & was so so so kind to us! We started talking and as we were getting his information Sister Shelley asked what his name was. Ah I am sure you guessed it! We found our Phillip! Poor guy must have gotten a little creeped out because I smiled so big at the sound of his name. I don’t know when we will see him again but I know Heavenly Father led us to him. He was a miracle.
I am so happy to be here. You get the best stories ever as a missionary because there is never a dull moment. I don’t think I’ve ever been flipped off so many times in my whole life! Partially because we are Americans driving on the wrong side of the road… but just the other day I waved at a lady we were driving past and she flipped me off! haha maybe I come off too friendly some times. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh well ๐Ÿ™‚
New Year’s was so awesome but we only made it until 10. You should know we celebrated on January 1st @ 6pm Australia time right along with the rest of America! I love America so much. Another fun fact is Sister Shelley & I are becoming ping pong pros. P day is Ping Pong day & we take our practices very seriously. The bishop and his wife compete in senior ping pong competitions so we are preparing to challenge them. I hear they are really good, so I’ll keep you updated with our progress.
More importantly though The Lord is aware of us. We found 4 new investigators this past week & I”m dying to see them again! They mean so much to me. I love them!
I hope you all have a wonderful week. I pray for you constantly & I hope you can feel it. Make this the best year ever by focusing on The Saviour. I’ve come to know that we decide how thin the veil will be. There are miracles to be had in 2016, & I can’t wait to hear about yours as well. Open your eyes to all that Heavenly Father has in store for you.
Love you heaps & heaps & heaps!
Your,
Sister Denney

Week 4 Pic 1

Week 4 Pic 2
Sister Shelley is teaching me how to go cross eyed!
Week 4 pic 3
I haven’t quite gotten it yet!
Week 4 pic 4.jpeg
here’s a cute story for ya! I gave Sister Shelley my farewell talk & when I came in she made a sign that said “So lets be cheerful” Isn’t it cute?! Made my heart happy.
Leave a Reply

