Week 5

Hey Fam! How’s you’s goin? (That was some Aussie talk for ya:)) Another week has come & gone! I’m so happy you’re all doing well! Maur, I wish so so so badly I could have been at your farewell but I’ve already heard it was SOOOO GOOD! I’m so proud of you. My ward mission leader spent some time in Novisibirsk & told me all about it yesterday. He really loved it there!! Thank you for your example to me, Maur. I love you! You are going to love being a missionary.

Yesterday I gave a talk in church & it was really fun! I enjoyed getting to speak with Sister Shelley. I talked about Mosiah Chapter 24 & how we need to stand as witnesses. Specifically we need to be witnesses that God visits His children in their afflictions. I decided to talk about that after a man told us earlier this past week that he knew God didn’t exist because of all the suffering in the world. My heart broke for this man because I know How merciful & good God is! I ended my talk with Mosiah 25: 9 & 10

9 And again, when they thought of their brethren who had been slain by the Lamanites they were filled with sorrow, and even shed many tears of sorrow.

10 And again, when they thought of the immediate goodness of God, and his power in delivering Alma and his brethren out of the hands of the Lamanites and of bondage, they did raise their voices and give thanks to God.  

We have a choice to make. Whether we are going to focus on all the sorrow in the world. Or if we are going to focus on the immediate goodness of God. He hears our prayers and He is always there. I love telling people that God loves them. It makes all of the hard days worth it.

I have some really big news for yous. I saw real life kangaroos! Heaps of them! We had dinner at the sweetest members house in Woolgoolga where they have kangaroos. They were just chilling by her house:) I was so excited to see them I almost started crying! They are actually kind of scary in person though. The locals got a good laugh from Sister Shelley & I running away from the kangaroos screaming. But we heard a lady got put in the hospital a little while back from a kangaroo attack so I didn’t want to get too close.

The highlight of the entire week though was Brother Eagan. He came to church for the first time in 4 years yesterday:) Sister Shelley & I have been visiting him & I can’t tell you how much I love this man! He is so good & filled with so much kindness. We are so happy he is starting to come back to church!

We also started teaching english to a Burmese woman this week. Although I don’t know that Sister Shelley & I are the most effective english teachers. I know I’m not at least! It’s a little difficult considering we don’t speak burmese & she doesn’t speak english. But I smile at her a lot so I think she knows I love her:) We are so determined to help her in some way or another. Another awesome thing was meeting with our investigator Ellie. She is amazing!! We went over the baptismal interview questions & she is still learning more about the gospel but we are hoping she will get baptized this month. I can’t wait for her to experience the happiness that comes from being baptized into the church!

Oh another highlight! Someone gave me a guitar this week:) So Mom I had to go out and buy the necessary things for the guitar so I’m going to figure out my credit card stuff for ya! Thanks so much!

I’m so happy to be serving in Coffs Harbour! It is the greatest place in the world & I want to bring all of you back with me someday.

I hope you all have an amazing week! I love you so much & I’m so thankful for each and every one of you. I’m praying for you!

Love,

Your Sister Denney:)

Rachel with KangaroosKangarooRachel mission

Leave a Reply

