Week 6

Family!

OH what a week. Sorry I am emailing so late – Sister Shelley & I hit a little roadblock on our way back from the Dorrigo rain forest this morning. I have to tell ya – Australia has to be the most beautiful place on earth. I love it here so much. We got to take the country road back to Coffs & I think I died & went to Heaven! You will just have to see for yourselves some day;)

On Tuesday I had my first trade off with Sister Stigen! I love her more than words can express. We got to visit Brother Eagan, my favourite person on earth. It was perfect timing because when we arrived he had his friend Steve over. So we got to teach both of them! Teaching them was definitely the highlight. It makes everything else worth it when just one person will take the time to listen to what we have to say.

For instance. Sister Shelley & I were looking for a family we met at the bus stop earlier in the week but we ended up knocking on their neighbors door instead. It was the biggest mistake we ever made! Nolana answered & I don’t think I’ll forget her face for the rest of my life. Probably because she said if we ever see her again we should run. hehe she said she’s reporting us! Then…. Nolana’s daughter joined the party & it got real interesting. Jazelle was talking to Sister Shelley & I had Nolana. After she found out we were American (most people think I am Italian.) she really lost it! We left but Jazelle said some things that I have been thinking a lot about lately. She told us that if we really wanted to do something good we should go to Africa and help starving children instead of bother people who are happy.
It’s funny because she had no idea how much I felt I was sacrificing to come on my mission. To be told you are just bothering people by being here isn’t the most pleasant thing… but how wrong she is! I would absolutely love to go to Africa & help the people there. What an honor that would be! But there is no where in the world I would rather be right now than Coffs Harbour, Australia. Because there is suffering here. A spiritual suffering like I never imagined. How important it is to run to those who are suffering temporally. Christ commanded us to. But what about the people whose spirits are starving? What are we doing for them? These women that yelled horrible things at my companion & I have not seen what we have seen as missionaries.
The Gospel of Jesus Christ truly does change lives. I have seen it in a 17 year old recent convert named Evelyn. She literally shines from the inside out. If only they could see what the gospel has done for sweet Evelyn they wouldn’t question whether or not missionaries should be here. I wish I could show them what it could do for their lives.
Every morning I receite the same words at 8 am:
“I am called of God. My authority is above that of the Kings of the Earth. By revelation I have been selected as a personal representative of the Lord, Jesus Christ. He is my Master and He has chosen me to represent Him. To stand in His place. To say and do what He Himself would say and do if He personally were ministering to the very people to whom He has sent me.”
These words have been engraved in my heart. Family, I hope they can become engraved in your hearts as well. My badge is not what qualifies me to be a personal representative of the Lord, Jesus Christ. He asked me to be one a long time ago & I will be expected to continue long after my mission. Long after my life here on Earth. Every day that realization sinks deeper into my heart.
I have learned that you can’t just tell people who Jesus Christ is. You also have to show them. All of you have shown me in one way or another who The Saviour of the World is. Whether you believe He is who He says He is or not, it doesn’t matter. Thank you so much. I love you more than I could express. I miss you all heaps but being a missionary brings the sweetest joys!
I’m praying for you!
Love,
Your Sister Denney:)
Leave a Reply

