Week 13

Dear Family,

Hello! What a fantastic week it has been. Life is so good in Coffs Harbour.. where I will be staying for another 6 weeks! I am so happy! The sad news is my mission mum is being transferred. Saying goodbye to Sister Shelley is going to break my heart. She has become one of my best friends & helped me through so much. My first 3 months would have been much harder if it weren’t for her. Thankfully we have a list of heaps of things to do in 2017. You will be seeing lots of Sister Shelley:) My new companions name is Sister Lewis! That’s all I know but I am so excited to meet her. I’m sure she will fall in love with the people of Coffs in no time.

This past week I experienced small moments where my heart was about to burst with gratitude for what the Lord has done for me. For sending me here & for showing me the most beautiful people. I stand all amazed at his love & mercy for all of His children!

A few weeks ago Sister Shelley and I found a new investigator named Hope. She is 19 years old and is from Africa. Hope is the sweetest soul. When we taught her about the Restoration the spirit was thick beyond belief! It was one of the strongest spiritual experiences I have ever had. At first I would get slightly nervous before testifying of Joseph Smith because that is where most people stop listening to what we have to say. I can honestly tell you that testifying of Joseph Smith has become the part I literally cannot wait to get to! How amazing to know that God talks to us today & that Christs gospel has been restored to the Earth. I love the Prophet Joseph & I am so grateful for what he has done.

English class was another miracle this week! We are up to 6 total students. Can you believe it!? Okay, 6 if you include the baby that comes. (Pictures will be included of the baby, Nagnis, because she has my heart) We have Leitap & Dolcy coming, who are doing great! They get to go home to their families next month:) I love them. Seddingheh & Shukriahs brother has started to come as well! His name is Zahed. Thursday night is my favorite day of the week. They have all taught me more about life & love than I could have ever imagined.

I know we are all God’s children. Being around so many people with all different backgrounds & hearing their life stories has been the greatest privilege. I have met selfless women who are here working long days to be able to send all their money home to their children, I have met a woman from Africa that walked for 4 months to get to a refugee camp & gave birth to her youngest daughter on the side of a dirt road along the way & I have become friends with the kindest family who came to Australia after their parents were killed in Afghanistan. I am hearing stories that I have only heard on the news. Never in a million years did I think I would meet these people who experienced such war and violence & never in a million years could I imagine how much I would absolutely love them. Who they are has become so clear to me; they are my brothers and sisters & they are the children of God.

I am surrounded by so much beauty it amazes me! It doesn’t get much better than the sun rising on the beach. When we watch the sun rise I think, “God is amazing. Look what He has created!” But then you look in the eye of Seddingheh, or Shukriah, or Dolcy, or Hope or Nagnis & then you really begin to stand in awe of what God has done. There is a light within them that cannot be compared to & it is a beauty that comes from a much deeper place. It comes from Him

50 Then shall ye know that ye have seen me, that I am, and that I am the true light that is in you, and that you are in me;

Thank you for your light & faith. I love you so much!! Thank you so so much for allowing me this opportunity to serve Gods children. There is no where I would rather be. I am praying for you!

Love,
Your Sister Denney

“To love another person is to see the face of God.”

Leave a Reply

