Week 16

Faaaamily!!

How excited I was to get your emails and pictures. They made me so happy:):) Thank you HEAPS! Han, that is a beautiful dress you have on. I have no doubt you are taking good care of it;) Looks better on you anyways!

Happy Easter to you as well! I hope you are enjoying this Easter Sunday and can feel my love from Australia. I miss you but I am so thankful for my first Easter as a missionary. I felt my Saviors love & had a beautiful day. I hope you can feel the same.

One of the most wonderful experiences this week was meeting with Josephine. She is added to the long list of people I have met on my mission that will forever be dear to my heart. This woman has so much faith! She was baptized into the church before she came to Australia in Africa. She is such a beautiful and strong follower of Jesus Christ. 2 nights a week Sister Lewis and I read the Book of Mormon with Josephine and her little daughter. It takes over an hour to read one short chapter but it is the most beautiful hour of the day. The Spirit enters the room & he is the one who helps her understand the words that we read. It is the small moments where Josephine lights up as she begins to read a verse that pierce my heart & make me forever thankful to be a missionary. God is teaching me more than I can ever explain.

In the past week I have studied Jesus Christ & the different roles he has played in our life. Specifically the role I was trying to grasp was His role as our Father. I have studied, pondered and prayed to understand what the scriptures are saying when Christ refers to himself as the Father.

14 Behold, I am he who was prepared from the foundation of the world to redeem my people. Behold, I am Jesus Christ. I am the Father and the Son. In me shall all mankind have life, and that eternally, even they who shall believe on my name; and they shall become my sons and my daughters. (Ether 3:14)

Joseph Fielding Smith put it perfectly when he said,

“If we speak of Jesus Christ as being our Father, we are not making any mistake because, spiritually, he begot us. No question about it – he united spirit and body, providing a resurrection for every living thing. We do not make any mistake in speaking of the Savior as our God, as our Father, and also as the Son of God because he received all authority. Jesus declared the Father conferred all authority upon him, and so he becomes to us a Father. Moreover, he begot us spiritually in the resurrection… We are his sons and daughters. He is a Father to us because he begot us and saved us from death, uniting spirit and body. What is a father but one who gives life?”

That is exactly what Christ has done for us. He has given us life.

I have grown a deep testimony that He knows everything we ever go through. In Chronicals of Narnia, The Magicians Nephew (I am sorry I just can’t help myself with the C.S. Lewis quotes & he paints the picture far better than I ever could) Digory is given a choice. He must choose between obeying Aslan, or obtaining the means to heal his dying mother. Their encounter is so beautiful-

“But please, please – won’t you- can’t you give me something that will cure Mother?”

Up till then he had been looking at the Lions great feet and the huge claws on them; now, in his despair, he looked up at its face. What he saw surprised him as much as anything in his whole life. For the tawny face was bent down near his own and (wonder of wonders) great shining tears stood in the Lion’s eyes. They were such big, bright tears compared with Digory’s own that for a moment he felt as if the Lion must really be sorrier about his Mother than he was himself.

‘My son, my son,’ said Aslan. ‘I know. Grief is great.”

As His spiritually begotten sons and daughters we look up at the Savior in our time of need, pleading for a “cure.” Something to make the pain go away. How often do we forget that we already have the cure? The Atonement of Jesus Christ and His resurrection has saved us all. Our hearts can find rest in knowing that The Saviors tears are far greater than our own. He knows…. grief is great but

18 …the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us. (Romans 8:18)

The glorious day of The Resurrection will come for us all…

Because of Jesus Christ.

I love him with every fiber of my being.

Happy Easter, my loved ones. I love you to Australia & back!

All my love,
Sister Denney:)

Leave a Reply

