Week 20

Dear family,

Hello! I hope you are doing great on this Sabbath day in America:) It is raining heaps here & I couldn’t be happier about it! Hope you’ve all had a great week so far:) MUM! Thank you so so so soooo much for my Easter package. Sister Lewis can confirm that I cried like a baby. haha thank you so much:) Your letter made me laugh and cry at the same time. I wore one of the outfits to church yesterday:) You did a great job mums, thank you! Another big thing happened this week… I drove in Australia! The left side of the road took some getting used to but it was pretty exciting. So sad about the Kia 😦 But Han’s alright so that’s all that matters. We had some fun times in that car, Han! I am sorry I have to make this one a little quicker because we are going to go see some KOALAS at Billabong Zoo! Sadly, you aren’t allowed to hold koalas in New South Wales but you do get to pat the koala. I have been looking forward to this day since I received my call. I will be sure to take heaps of pictures of all the animals we see:)

What a week! It was one of those weeks where I was completely humbled & amazed at the opportunity & blessing Heavenly Father has given me to serve in Coffs Harbour, Australia. I couldn’t love this area and people more. I never knew a foreign land and people could occupy such a big piece of my heart.

I mentioned before, but we go multiple times a week to Josephine’s home to read the Book of Mormon with her. She is from South Sudan and was already a baptized member of the church when she came to Coffs from Sydney. I have never seen someone with a greater desire to learn about the gospel and to understand the Book of Mormon in my entire life. She is still learning English so reading a chapter in the Book of Mormon takes us quite some time.

This past week as I sat there and listened to her read word by word, I started to become overwhelmed at how proud Heavenly Father must be of her. How many of us struggle finding the time & finding the desire to read from the Book of Mormon and yet we have it written in our own language? Josephine reads one chapter with us but how much does that one chapter mean to her Father in Heaven? More than we can comprehend. I am inspired at her continuing conversion. At her determination to do the right thing. On the days where it seems unimportant and inconsequential to read my Book of Mormon, I will think of Josephine. Long after my mission I will think on the days I got to witness a daughter of God coming to know her Father through the scriptures. No matter the barriers that have been placed before her. She is the one setting the example for me.

My companion and I had a great study this past week & I wanted to share an insight we put together. She was telling me what the previous mission president would tell the missionaries to do whenever they got discouraged, down, or depressed. These are the words of President H, “Praise God in prayer. Really praise Him. When you are feeling sad or you’re not getting along with your companion praise God with all your heart.” She told me that & I automatically thought of a CS Lewis quote. I’m sorry he is the only one I quote… I just seem to remember his quotes more than others:)

this one is from A Grief Observed

“Praise is the mode of love which always has some element of joy in it.” – CS LEWIS

Doesn’t it all connect? It makes sense why the answer to discouragement is praising our Lord & God. His love is our joy. Our praising invites His love as we show our love for Him. The ultimate example of praising God is of course, our Saviour Jesus Christ. Was there ever a moment in his life He did not praise & give glory to His Father in Heaven? Perhaps therein lies the secret to living a life patterned after Jesus Christ. A life full of joy.

“..When I am moved to praise I will shout from the roofs. Is it not so that birds, the wind, the sea and all nature speaks with the music of praise for their creator? Cannot I speak with the same music to his children? Henceforth will I remember this secret and it will change my life.”

I can testify that singing his praises has changed my life. In every way, shape, and form. My life has been changed more than any others.

I am hoping you all have an amazing week! Have so much fun being all together, I am there in spirit! I miss you heaps. (I meant to make this one short but somehow it ended up longer than the others.)

I LOVE YOU SO SO MUCH!

all my love,
your sister denney:)

 

Leave a Reply

