Week 21

Hey fam!

What a week! One of the absolute best weeks of my mission. So many tender mercies and miracles from the Lord.

As you saw from the pictures I did pat a koala. By the way I am not just spelling pet wrong they actually say pat here:) Just thought I would clear that up. Robin is the name of the Koala and I think she is about the cutest thing that has ever existed. I was thinking we should see if they’ll trade Annie and Lucy for Robin. What do you think Mom? She sleeps over 16 hours a day and I promise I will take really good care of her! We just need to plant a eucalyptus tree in the backyard.

Mom I was thinking this past week about your classic “bad thing, good thing” story. You know the one you love to tell about the rock hitting your windshield but it led to a good thing & tender mercy. The only part of the story I cant recall is what the good thing was. But I’m sure you know what story I’m referring to. Well, I had my own “bad thing, good thing” story happen this past week:)

For the past 4 1/2 months I have gone to visit Sister Collier in the nursing home every Friday morning. She lives just up past our flat & isn’t able to make it to church so we love visiting her. She calls everyone “love” and is so sweet. Last Friday as we were leaving Sister Colliers room a lady who works there stopped us and said we could no longer visit Sister Collier because we need a police check to enter her room. A police check is hard for us to come by because it takes a while and we don’t even know how much longer we will be in the area for! The only other option is visiting Sister Collier in the lounge but that didn’t seem likely because I have never seen her leave her room due to her poor health. This was definitely a bad thing. If we were speaking Book of Mormon then our flocks have just been scattered!

But like you taught me Mom, & as you know from the story of Ammon, the Lord can turn situations that seem bad into a very good thing. And He did just that:) This past Friday we showed up to the nursing home with the intent of explaining to someone that we don’t have a way to get a police check & praying that they would still let us visit Sister Collier. Well, they didn’t. They still say we need one. While it seemed like rubbish, the Lord knew something we did not. As we were about to leave one of the nurses said Sister Collier was actually sitting in the lounge at the moment & we could go say hi. Surprised, we went over to the lounge & there was Sister Collier sitting with 2 other people. We sat down and had a lesson with Sister Collier & The Richards. Jim and his wife, Dawn. As we began talking Jim said he has met with missionaries many times throughout his life and one day he is going to make it to church. He even knows the address of our chapel! We had an amazing lesson and he asked if we could come back this Friday for another meeting in the lounge. What a good thing this bad thing turned out to be.

I once read a book that taught an important lesson. God only gives us good things. But, there are two different kinds of good things the Lord gives us. There is the expected good and there is the given good. I am learning that the expected can be very different than the given, but nonetheless the Lord is only ever good. Of this I can be sure.

I wish I had more time to tell you about some of the other lessons we had this week but they’ll have to wait until Sunday:) (Saturday for you) Also, I still don’t have an australian accent so try not to act too disappointed. It is hard to believe but I think I am actually worse at it than before I left!

I wanted to share with you a quote that Brother Scoville mailed me. It hit me to the core and I couldn’t help but pass it on!

“I am apart of the fellowship of the unashamed. The dye has been cast. I have stepped over the line. The decision has been made. I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, or be still. My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, and my future is secure. I am finished and done with low living, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tamed visions, worldly talking, cheap giving, and dwarfed goals. I no longer need pre-eminance, positions, promotions, plaudits, or popularity. I don’t have to be right, first recognized, praised, regarded, or rewarded. I now live by faith, lean on his presence, walk with patience, am uplifted by prayer, and labor with power. My face is set, my gait is fast, my goal is Heaven. My road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions are few, my guide is reliable, my mission is clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, divided, or delayed. I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of adversity, negotiate at the table of the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity. I won’t give up, shut up, or let up until I have stayed up, stored up, and paid up for the cause of Christ. I must go ’til He comes, give ’til I drop, preach ’til all know, and work ’til He stops me. And when he returns for His own. He will have no problem recognizing me. My banner will be clear.”

I love you heaps & I cannot wait to talk to you soon! Have a beautiful week!
Love,
Your Sister Denney:)

Leave a Reply

