Week 22

Dear Family,

Wooooow it was so good to see you yesterday! I loved getting to talk to you and show off my australian vocabulary;) I hope you had a fantastic mothers day mom! You are everything I hope to become someday and I am beyond thankful for you. I love you!

Well, I already gave you a bit of an update yesterday but after we spoke we had a great lesson with Julie! She is beginning to read The Book of Mormon with us and has so many questions. It was truly a miracle finding her & getting to teach her.

I forgot to mention something about Leitap and Dolcy yesterday. As you know they are back in Vanuatu now but we were talking to our mission president and he told us that he is meeting with the mission president of Vanuatu soon. He is going to hand deliver a letter to him from us about Leitap and Dolcy. The Lords hand is in absolutely everything. We didn’t know how to go about making sure they are taken care of by missionaries now that they are in Vanuatu, but of course Heavenly Father does. He always provides a way.

I am sorry I don’t have much to update you on now! But I have been studying a lot about change. Why it is essential, why it can be so hard, and how we are able to make lasting changes in ourselves. I have been reading the Book of Mormon with the question in mind, “What does Heavenly Father want me to change about myself?” He has shown me so many areas of improvement that I never thought of before. Wendy L. Watson, a professor at BYU said,

“Through clinical research I have found that change is most likely to occur when we are invited to a reflection. Through the process of reflection we can become aware of ourselves and others in a whole new way.”

She then went on to discuss Alma 5. The best chapter in the entire Book of Mormon! (Sister Denney Doctrine there) Alma asks over 40 questions that invite us to reflect in that chapter alone! Such as….

14 And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? Have ye received his image in your countenances? Have ye experienced this mighty change in your hearts?

There is a great little story about a caterpillar that makes a good point: (and pulls at the heart strings at the same time)

“A story is told of a caterpillar named Yellow who was trying to find out what she should be doing with her life. In her wanderings she discovered another caterpillar seemingly caught in some gauzy, hairy filament. Concerned, she asked if she could help. He explained that this was all part of the process of becoming a butterfly.

When she heard the word butterfly, her whole insides leapt. “But what is a butterfly?”

The cocooned caterpillar explained: “It’s what you are meant to become.”

Yellow was intrigued but a bit defiant. “How can I believe there’s a butterfly inside you or me when all I see is a fuzzy worm?”

On further reflection she pensively asked, “How does one become a butterfly?”

And the answer?

“You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.”

So then, what are we as humans willing to give up to become spiritually born of God? To receive His countenance? To become the person God intended us to be? God intends for us to fly.

I love you very much my loved ones! You mean the world to me and it was so great to get to talk to you yesterday. I hope you have a fantastic week and always remember that there is a girl praying for you in Coffs Harbour with all of her heart:)

all my love,

your sister denney:)

Leave a Reply

