Week 34

Hey Family!

It was another quick and amazing week at UNSW! I love this area and my sweet companion. You would absolutely LOVE, Sister Cookson. She’s full of so much happiness and her testimony of the gospel is the strongest I have seen. A New Zealand trip is definitely going to happen one day:) I’ll never know how I got to be so blessed! My heart is so full with gratitude to the Lord for the mission He has blessed me with & the miracles I have seen.

Nothing too new happened this week but we were able to talk to a lot of people at UNSW since school is now back in session. So many students! We have changed things up a bit and started proselyting on campus because we find people are much more willing to talk to us when we aren’t wearing a badge & blend in with the crowd. I’m really excited because I think we will continue to find a lot of people on campus! (As long as we don’t get caught by security) It is really fun being on campus because we get to see all sorts of cool things… Like quidditch matches & korean dancing groups. Never a dull moment for Sister Cookson and I:) We are definitely having to be creative in contacting people because majority are from China and have no belief or desire to believe in God. So instead we are trying to do little acts of service and we invite them to gain confidence in themselves through learning about Jesus Christ. Majority of the time when you ask a chinese person what they believe in they will reply, “myself,” because that is the only thing they have been taught to believe in. It is fun sharing with them how Jesus Christ teaches us to believe in ourselves & how we will be happier by following Him. We are also helping people catch lots of pokemon. We find that’s one of the best ways to gain their trust and love. So, to answer your question, Dad… The answer is yes! haha people are always playing the game. We went to the Opera House last Monday and the missionaries & a BYU study abroad group we ran into were practically the only ones not catching pokemon.

I have had to give multiple trainings and a talk in sacrament this week (which i will forward) so I am hoping that can count as my spiritual thought for yous:) I only had a few hours to put the talk together so it’s mainly just a lot of quotes but hopefully you can gain something from it! I spoke about Joseph Smith’s first vision & in preparing for it my testimony grew exponentially. I love the Prophet Joseph Smith. I know that He could not have done what he did unless he was a Prophet of God.

He saw a pillar of light. He saw God the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ. They spoke to Him and what followed truly did change the history of the world & our eternal destinies. My joy is full sharing this message with God’s children, whether they accept it or not. I love being apart of the Lord’s work.

“The Standard of Truth has been erected; no unhallowed hand can stop the work from progressing; … the truth of God will go forth boldly, nobly,and independent, till it has penetrated every continent, visited every clime,swept every country, and sounded in every ear, till the purposes of Godshall be accomplished, and the Great Jehovah shall say the work is done.”

How blessed are we to all be apart of the work until our Saviour shall come again & say His work is finished. I love you all & hope you have a fantastic week! Thank you for the prayers:) They carry me through every day.

all my love,
Sister Denney

Leave a Reply

