Week 35

Hey Fam!

How are you doing? I am assuming you are having a great time in CA since this is the first time my mommy hasn’t emailed me. Jacobs picture made me laugh out loud. haha don’t have too much fun, mom! But really, I hope you have a great time!:) I am doing good over here! We had a fun week at UNSW with heaps of teaching appointments. I never thought the day would come when I first got here that we would teach lessons on campus! On Wednesday we had 8 hours of straight teaching appointments – one right after the other. The Lord is hastening His work and helping us every single day. He is always leading the way. We are finding a lot of potential investigators & now we are just finding out who is prepared and ready to act on what we have taught. Exciting stuff!

Yesterday was a fantastic Sunday for our entire district because we were all able to see the fruits of our labours & help each other out. We had a referral from the Elders in our ward, named Lulu, who we began teaching English to & yesterday she came to all 3 hours of church. So amazing! The beautiful thing was one of the referrals we gave to the elders also came & stayed for all 3 hours of church. It is a blessing to serve in the same ward & it brings so much joy seeing their success. We also have another set of sisters in our ward who are brilliant. I am very grateful to serve with the best missionaries in the best mission! South Harbour ward is becoming another home.

Something I have been thinking about is comparison. You know when Theodore Roosevelt said, “comparison is the thief of joy,” well I think it is the thief of gratitude which leads to being the thief of joy. Sister Cookson and I have been very privileged to see many miracles every day but when compared to the miracles experienced by other missionaries, well, they begin to cease to be miracles in our minds. It’s hard not to think, “Why isn’t that happening for us?!” I mentioned Carly a few weeks ago & the miracle of praying for 1 person to come to church & no one we invited came but then we met Carly & our prayer seemed to be answered. Our POS lesson with her was one of the most powerful lessons I have ever experienced. Our joy was so full & we couldn’t believe the miracle we got to witness. Carly was loved by us from the moment we met her. This past week she texted us & said she no longer wanted to learn about the church. While our love for Carly didn’t change our perception of the miracle of meeting Carly did. Was it still a miracle? Even though she decided she doesn’t want to learn more about the church did Heavenly Father still prepare & lead her to us? Why do greater miracles happen to other missionaries? Those were the kind of thoughts that were entering our minds and I could see how ungrateful I was becoming. I know meeting Carly was a miracle and I’ll tell you how I know.

On Tuesday it was pouring rain and we were really struggling to find people to talk to us on campus. After about an hour we met a student named Jonathan. He was one of those contacts where if your testimony didn’t convert them at least it helped convert you. He didn’t exactly agree with anything we shared with him. As we were about to leave we began testifying of the Atonement of Jesus Christ & the love that He had to suffer and die for him. He said something that has never hurt my heart more. It was along the lines of, “If Jesus Christ was who you say He was then I think He’s the stupidest man to ever live. If He had the power to stop them from crucifying Him then why didn’t He?”

He may thought he was being a clever little fella but really he just set us up to testify of the greatest miracle that has ever occurred!

I thought back to Mark Chapter 15

25 And it was the third hour, and they crucified him.
29 And they that passed by railed on him, wagging their heads, and saying, Ah, thou that destroyest the temple,and buildest it in three days,
30 Save thyself, and come down from the cross.
31 Likewise also the chief priests mocking said among themselves with the scribes,
He saved others; himself he cannot save.
32 Let Christ the King of Israel descend now from the cross, that we may see and believe.

If Christ would have performed the miracle they had in their minds, then they would have believed on Him. (so they say) But that was not the will of the Father because the Father had a far greater miracle planned. They expected Christ to save Himself but in reality He was in the very act of saving them. 3 days later the most miraculous event to happen in history took place…

Christianity is founded on the greatest of all miracles, the Resurrection of our Lord. (bible dictionary)

I share this with you because I thought Carly would get baptised and we would tell the miracle that the Father performed in sending her to us. How we exercised our faith and He answered our prayers. I realised that on a much much smaller scale I was acting in the way of the men who expected Christ to save Himself from being crucified because then they would believe. Would I still believe in miracles and God’s hand if the miracle I sought didn’t take place? Do I still believe Heavenly Father answered our prayer? Would I have believed in Jesus Christ enough to not question why He would not save His own life? Questions i am finding the answers to every day.

I do know that our Father in Heaven hears our prayers, not only does He hear them but He answers them. In His own way & in His own time. Jesus Christ lived, died & lived again. He still lives today.

i love you so much! i pray for you every day & pray our Father will pour out blessings over you.

all my love,
sister denney

Leave a Reply

