Week 37

Hi there my most favourite family:):) I’m hoping you are having a beautiful sabbath! We had a great week here with lots of little miracles every single day. The sun even came out for most of it & I can feel summer coming just around the corner! Not that the winter here is anything to complain about, but I’m excited for Spring & Summer:) I can’t believe I’ll be heading into my second summer in Australia in a few months. Time just flies! I’m going into my second transfer at UNSW with Sister Cookson this week & I am so excited. A lot of amazing things are happening!

We are still meeting with a few investigators but it’s hard to keep them progressing. School is so busy for them and exams have just started. Nonetheless the work continues! Yesterday we had the most beautiful experience with our investigator, Shawdie. She is the sweetest student from China I have ever met. I learned a great lesson from my companion to never give up on someone. We had set up a few different appointments with Shawdie that always fell through but thankfully my companion was so persistent and Heavenly Father provided a way for us to meet her again. Every day we are always bumping into people on campus who we saw previously. I really feel like a student at UNSW, we know so many people there! On Friday we were about to leave campus when we ran into Shawdie & set up a chapel tour with her for Sunday. I wish I could describe the spirit we felt during our lesson but there aren’t words. I never knew that a chapel could become one of the most sacred places I have ever been.

As we taught Shawdie The Plan of Salvation tears began to stream down her face & she said it was because of the warm feeling in her heart. She had never felt that way. With even more tears in our eyes we testified that we weren’t teaching her anything new. Just helping her remember what she already knew.

I wanted to share a little poem that I heard this week. I felt like it was spoken exactly for me and maybe it can help one of you too:)

Chapter I

I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk
I fall in.
I am lost … I am helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter II

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place.
But, it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter III

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.
I still fall in … it’s a habit … but,
my eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

Chapter IV

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

Chapter V

I walk down another street.

There are habits and parts of me that I want to change but I just don’t seem to know how & I can’t on my own. Metaphorically I “fall in the hole” time & time again. But the Saviour, Jesus Christ not only lifts us up out of the holes in our life, He shows us another way. He makes it possible for us to walk down another street. He heals us & changes us because He loves us. I know He lives. I can never deny that His power is real. Everyday here is changing me. Thank you for supporting me and for being the best family a girl could ask for. You will never know how much I love you. Every prayer is filled with thanks for the people I call “family.”

all my love,

Sister Denney

Leave a Reply

